Chicago Texting and Cell Phone Use While Driving Attorney
Experienced Traffic Attorney Serving Cook and DuPage County
Talking on your cell phone without a hands free device or texting while driving is Illegal in Illinois. If you are pulled over and given a ticket for either one of these offenses, it is in your best interest to hire an experienced attorney to help protect your driving record. If you plead, or are found guilty to such charges may have serious consequences such as having points added onto your license, which may lead to higher insurance rates, or even the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges.
Mr. Moretti has defended clients in the Cook and DuPage County areas for 18 years. He has worked with, and earned the respect of, court personnel. He knows the court proceedings and laws, which is beneficial for your case. He will review your case and plan out a strategic defense plan. Mr. Moretti handles each traffic and criminal law case personally and fights to get you the most favorable outcome possible. He can help you keep your driving record clear and fight the charges against you.
Texting and Cell Phone Use While Driving
In 2014, Illinois banned the use of hand-held devices while driving. You are allowed to use hands-free technology, like Bluetooth and speakerphone, if they are completely hands-free. The exceptions to the hands-free condition are:
- Driving in a school zone,
- Driving in a highway construction zone, and
- If you are a novice driver.
All cell phone use is banned from use under those conditions, and you must be over 19 years of age to use a hands-free device. Texting while driving is prohibited for any driver in Illinois. You are only permitted to text if you are pulled over to the side of the road or reporting an emergency.
Texting or using your cell phone while driving is a primary law. This means a police officer can pull you over if they see you talking on a cell phone without a hands-free device or if they see you texting, without witnessing another violation at the same time. You will be issued a ticket and required to pay the fine, starting at $75, or contest the ticket in court.
Similar to when you receive a speeding ticket, if you just pay the ticket without contesting the charges, you are entering a guilty plea to the charges. This result in points being added to your license. If you have three traffic violations in a twelve month period or you accumulate too many points on your driving record, your license may be suspended or revoked.
Contact a Chicago Cell Phone Violation Attorney
With new laws and changing statutes being passed, you need a lawyer with the knowledge and experience of the court system and procedures to defend your rights. Mr. Moretti has served the Chicago area for over 18 years and has received verdicts of dismissed charges, plea bargain with no jail time, and more.
If you have received a ticket for texting or using your cell phone while driving in Illinois, contact the office of Moretti Law, P.C. today at 312-861-1084 for a complimentary consultation. Moretti Law, P.C. has three offices conveniently located in Chicago, Schaumburg, and Oak Brook. You deserve an experienced lawyer on your side in the courtroom.