Two Driving Permits That May Benefit You After a DUI
Driving under the influence of alcohol can lead to criminal and administrative consequences. Not only does a DUI offender face steep fines and even jail time, but they may also lose their driver’s license. Once a person’s driver’s license is suspended or revoked, it is illegal for the individual to drive any motor vehicle. Driving with a suspended or revoked license due to a DUI conviction is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to $2500 in fines and a mandatory minimum penalty of 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service.
Fortunately, there may be a way to get back on the road legally after a drunk driving arrest or conviction. Illinois offers special driving permits that allow DUI offenders to drive without the risk of further criminal charges.
Monitoring Device Driving Permit
When someone is arrested for driving under the influence because they failed or refused to take a breath alcohol test, their driver’s license is suspended. In Illinois, drivers do not have to be convicted of DUI to receive a driver’s license suspension. Fortunately, the state offers means of regaining driving privileges during the suspension period. A Monitoring Device Driving Permit is available for individuals subject to statutory summary suspensions after a drunk driving arrest.
If you were arrested for a first-time DUI and the DUI offense did not involve an accident resulting in harm to others, you may be able to get an MDDP and drive legally. You will need to have a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installed in your vehicle to receive an MDDP. This device is like a breathalyzer. You must blow into the device to prove you are not under the influence before starting your car.
Restricted Driving Permit or Hardship License
A Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) is available to DUI offenders with multiple DUI convictions or statutory summary suspension. To receive an RDP, the person must attend a hearing with an officer from the Secretary of State Department and demonstrate that he or she is committed to driving safely. A BAIID is also required for an RDP permit. The person must submit a breath sample into the device to engage the ignition on the vehicle. If the device detects alcohol on the person’s breath, the vehicle will be “locked out” for a certain period of time and cannot be started. As of January 1, 2022, an RDP allows an individual to drive up to 12 hours a day for six days a week and up to 200 miles.
Contact a Cook County DUI Defense Lawyer
If you were arrested for drunk driving, contact [[title]] for legal support and help. Call our skilled Chicago criminal defense lawyer Emilio Moretti at 312-861-1084 today.